DUI Get the peace of mind that comes with an aggressive defense. Call Stewart Salwin.

DUI Lawyer in Scottsdale

Helping You Understand Your Options

Arizona has some of the toughest DUI laws in the nation. If you’re charged with a DUI, you face mandatory minimum jail time and substantial fines. The amount of minimum fines and jail time depends on the type of DUI you were charged with, and whether you have any prior DUIs. Depending on your blood alcohol concentration, you may face one of three types of DUIs: a regular DUI, extreme DUI, or super extreme DUI. I’m an experienced DUI lawyer in Scottsdale who can help you understand your situation and represent your interests in court.

Call Salwin Law Group PLLC today at (480) 470-6119, or contact me online to make your same-day appointment.

Types of DUIs

Below are the minimum punishments you can face for each type of DUI. Although these are the mandatory minimums that a court must order under Arizona law, the judge may order more jail time and fines.

Regular DUI, 0.08+ BAC

No Prior DUIS

  • 10 days in jail (reducible to one day with completion of alcohol screening)
  • Minimum $1,250 in fines
  • Possible community service
  • Ignition interlock device
  • Must attend driving school

1 Prior DUI

  • 90 days in jail (reducible to 30 days with completion of screening)
  • Minimum $3,000 in fines
  • Minimum 30 hours of community service
  • Driving privileges revoked for one year
  • Ignition interlock device
  • Must attend driving school

Extreme DUI, 0.15+ BAC

No Prior DUIs

  • 30 consecutive days in jail (reducible to 9 days if ignition interlock is installed in car)
  • Minimum $2,500 in fines
  • Possible community service
  • Ignition interlock device for at least one year
  • Must attend driving school

1 Prior DUI

  • 120 days in jail, 60 must be served consecutively
  • Minimum $3,250 in fines
  • Minimum 30 hours of community service
  • Driving privileges revoked for a minimum of one year
  • Ignition interlock device
  • Driving school

Super Extreme DUI, 0.20+ BAC

No Prior DUIs

  • 45 consecutive days in jail (reducible to 14 days if ignition interlock is installed in car)
  • Minimum $2,750 in fines
  • Possible community service
  • Ignition interlock device
  • Must attend driving school

1 Prior DUI

  • 180 days in jail, 90 must be served consecutively
  • Minimum $3,750 in fines
  • Minimum 30 hours of community service
  • Driving privileges revoked for a minimum of 1 year
  • Ignition interlock device
  • Must attend driving school

Aggravated DUI

In some circumstances, a driver may also be charged with what is known as aggravated DUI. This is a felony, and it is punishable with increased fines and with a prison term. The minimum prison term for an aggravated DUI is some cases in between four to eight months.

Call me, an experienced Scottsdale DUI lawyer, today to represent you at (480) 470-6119.

Client Testimonials

  • “He got me the best outcome and I feel like a free man again.”

    - David
  • “It was a smooth & successful experience & I owe it all to Stewart.”

    - Dinali
  • “I was in good hands because he was so knowledgeable and experienced.”

    - Mariam

Why Choose My Firm?

  • Free Consultation
  • Harvard Law School Graduate
  • 10/10 Avvo Rating
  • Former Felony Prosecutor
  • 75+ Trials Won
  • 1000+ DUIs Handled

Schedule Your 
Free Consultation

  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.